Purns Tries To Oscars 2024

For ~ Cinema ~

I’d like to believe that 2023 was year of growth for me, professionally and definitely on a personal level. I felt a little disappointed during the last cycle of films because I only saw 71 films when I used to close in on a hundred. I just managed to match my 2022 movie count, but I’ve realized I’m somewhat conservative about the movies I see now. A majority of my visits to the theater are opportunities I get through work, which I’m grateful for, but on my own I carefully select now what I want to see.

It’s a daunting thought but one I’ve accepted for quite a while. Yes I want to see as much films as I possibly can, but life is making me realize there are things just as important that they are worth sacrificing for. Still, the Oscars may be turning heads for different reasons across the years, it’s still the huge gathering for cinephiles — me included. Work may be where all my writing goes on a daily basis, getting to continue this series is my annual therapy session now. To just repeat what I said last year, “All I’ve ever wanted was to share my love of cinema in the hopes that others will discover it themselves through my words, and I will do my best to continue that.”

As I have done in previous versions of this series, I will list down who I think the Academy will award, who I think deserves to win, and my personal bets among the given nominees. Afterwards I’ll discuss my thoughts in each category for why I chose them as such for each section, starting with the major awards leading to the craft awards. At the end of each portion I will also include films or individuals I’ve seen in the past year who I think should have considered for a nomination. I only saw two nominees for Best Animated Short and not even a single one for Best Documentary (which is likely a landslide for 20 Days In Mariupol anyway, and I’m going for Ninety-Five Senses in the former over Letter to a Pig). It’s an improvement though from last year where I didn’t predict five categories, so hopefully I’ll slow get around to them again by next campaign. I hope this part of me never changes —lights, camera, action.

BEST PICTURE

WHO I THINK WILL WIN: Oppenheimer
WHO I THINK SHOULD WIN: Oppenheimer
, Poor Things OR The Zone of Interest
WHO I WANT TO WIN:
1. Oppenheimer
2. Poor Things
3.
 Anatomy of a Fall
4. The Zone of Interest
5Killers of the Flower Moon
6Past Lives
7. Barbie
8. The Holdovers
9. American Fiction
10. Maestro

I really can’t see how Oppenheimer won’t come out on top on Oscars night. Granted it’s been a long time coming for Christopher Nolan, especially for someone like me who’s a big fan of his work and the only film of his I’ve yet to see is Following. All things considered — acting, story, craft, direction, let’s chip in box office as well — Oppenheimer perfectly fits the bill and seems an ideal representative to 2023 in film. That’s not of course to downplay the success of Barbie, which has been losing steam as the awards season went on, but seeing how the Academy operates makes it difficult for the film to come away with multiple awards.

Would I like an upset this year? It’s unlikely but I’d welcome it, especially if it’s Poor Things or Anatomy of a Fall [Anatomy] sneaking in for the top prize (though I feel The Zone of Interest [Zone] is surging ahead of Killers of the Flower Moon [Killers] even). I feel like my Top 5 are all worthy winners of Best Picture, even though I feel bad for knocking Barbie of it. I am glad though that films with great stories (Anatomy, Zone, Past Lives, The Holdovers) are getting praises and warm reception. If there was one film I’d swap in, no question I’d put down Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse [Spider-Verse] for Maestro. But God is fair I guess, so congratulations Nolan and Team Oppenheimer.

WHAT I THINK SHOULD HAVE BEEN NOMINATED: Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse, May December, The Color Purple

BEST DIRECTOR

WHO I THINK WILL WIN: Christopher Nolan (Oppenheimer)
WHO I THINK SHOULD WIN: Christopher Nolan (Oppenheimer)
WHO I WANT TO WIN:
1. Christopher Nolan (Oppenheimer)
2. Yorgos Lanthimos (Poor Things)
3. Martin Scorsese (Killers of the Flower Moon)

4. Jonathan Glazer (The Zone of Interest)
5. Justine Triet (Anatomy of a Fall)

It is kind of strange not seeing Greta Gerwig‘s name here after the phenomenal work she did for Barbie, but I can’t pull apart which director to swap her in for. Yorgos Lanthimos and Nolan were as equally terrific, Martin Scorsese keeps churning out magnificent work even at his age, and both Jonathan Glazer and Justine Triet helmed two of the best films of 2023 which would have not turned out the same way if not for their visions and decision-making. Regardless, it feels like a slam dunk for Nolan, and I should be happier about it. After 12 films in 26 years he’s finally getting that coveted Directing Oscar — maybe I just like the thrill of the competition, but it’s a well-deserved win nonetheless.

WHO I THINK SHOULD HAVE BEEN NOMINATED: Greta Gerwig (Barbie), Joaquim Dos Santos, Kemp Powers, and Justin K. Thompson (Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse), Alexander Payne (The Holdovers), Celine Song (Past Lives), James Gunn (Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3), Bradley Cooper (Maestro), Todd Haynes (May December), Wim Wenders (Perfect Days), Cord Jefferson (American Fiction), Chad Stahelski (John Wick: Chapter 4), Blitz Bazawule (The Color Purple)

BEST ACTOR

WHO I THINK WILL WIN: Cillian Murphy (Oppenheimer) OR Paul Giamatti (The Holdovers)
WHO I THINK SHOULD WIN: Paul Giamatti (The Holdovers)
WHO I WANT TO WIN:
1. Paul Giamatti (The Holdovers)
2. Cillian Murphy (Oppenheimer)

3. Colman Domingo (Rustin)
4. Bradley Cooper (Maestro)

5. Jeffrey Wright (American Fiction)

This is one race I’m keeping close eyes on, it’s really a toss-up between Cillian Murphy and Paul Giamatti. I was honestly impressed with Murphy‘s performance after seeing Oppenheimer but wasn’t entirely convinced it was award-worthy; my thoughts have come around over time. He teeters on arrogance and pride before diving into solemnity and remorse, such a heavy task for the portrayal of a man who ushered in a new era for humanity but brought with it fearful outcomes. For all my admiration for Murphy, I’m throwing my cards at Giamatti in what I believe is his best role ever that I’ve seen (that or Big Fat Liar). It’s the performances that push the heartwarming story of The Holdovers and I am all for finally giving Giamatti the recognition he deserves.

On that note, I am so glad that Colman Domingo and Jeffrey Wright are also getting recognized with Oscar nominations. Rustin was the finest I’ve ever seen Domingo since first seeing him in Fear The Walking Dead, a career-best for sure. A huge strength of American Fiction was having Wright as the lead, portraying classy exasperation while in the middle of both personal and professional troubles, it almost baffles me what took so long for either get nods. As for Bradley Cooper, I am truly in awe of the kind of filmmaker he is becoming. There is a charisma to Cooper that he brings to all his projects, but as Leonard Bernstein he adds dashes of passion and gravitas that he blends both sides of the lens. I’m almost eager to see what he decides to do next.

WHO I THINK SHOULD HAVE BEEN NOMINATED: Leonardo Di Caprio (Killers of the Flower Moon), Barry Keoghan (Saltburn), Teo Yoo (Past Lives), Koji Yakusho (Perfect Days)

BEST ACTRESS

WHO I THINK WILL WIN: Lily Gladstone (Killers of the Flower Moon) OR Emma Stone (Poor Things)
WHO I THINK SHOULD WIN: Emma Stone (Poor Things)
WHO I WANT TO WIN:
1. Emma Stone (Poor Things)
2. Sandra Hüller (Anatomy of a Fall)
3. Lily Gladstone (Killers of the Flower Moon)
4. Annette Bening (Nyad)
5. Carey Mulligan (Maestro)

While personally not as exciting as races in the past few years, this category is surprisingly closer than I thought. It’s definitely a toss-up between Lily Gladstone and Emma Stone, and I find myself rooting hard for the latter. With respect to Gladstone who is the soul and glowing light of Killers, her character feels too much as a supporting role surrounded by her co-stars. Granted its her performance that stands out the most in the movie followed by Robert De Niro and Leonardo DiCaprio, even outshining those of bigger names like Jesse Plemons, John Lithgow, and Brendan Fraser.

On the flipside Emma Stone delivers what I believe is her best performance yet, topping what she showed in La La Land and The Favourite. Her character is the shining star of Poor Things with comedic delivery stealing every scene. She balances her blunt portrayal quite well opposite a buffoonish Mark Ruffalo and warm Willem Dafoe, carrying it on to her castmates. Stone truly is a leading lady to be reckoned with.

If there is one contender who I believe can upset Stone or Gladstone, its Sandra Hüller. There is a calmness to her characterization wherein she could have brought the tears or defiant raised voices, instead decisively presenting with rationale with just a tinge of worry. As much as I admired NYAD, Annette Bening‘s upfront fierceness doesn’t come off as award-winning but certainly dependable and respectable for an actress of her calibre. The same can be said about Carey Mulligan, who was definitely much stronger in Promising Young Woman, where in Maestro she superbly holds her grace in a performance that demands more conflict.

WHO I THINK SHOULD HAVE BEEN NOMINATED: Margot Robbie (Barbie), Greta Lee (Past Lives), Natalie Portman (May December), Fantasia (The Color Purple)

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR

WHO I THINK WILL WIN: Robert Downey Jr. (Oppenheimer)
WHO I THINK SHOULD WIN: Mark Ruffalo (Poor Things)
OR Robert Downey Jr. (Oppenheimer)
WHO I WANT TO WIN:
1. Mark Ruffalo (Poor Things)
2. Robert Downey Jr. (Oppenheimer)
3. Ryan Gosling (Barbie)
4. Robert De Niro (Killers of the Flower Moon)
5. Sterling K. Brown (American Fiction)

From the moment I finished Oppenheimer, I knew Robert Downey Jr. was an automatic shoo-in for this category — and based on form it might be his for the win. His Lewis Strauss is the Salieri with a grudge against his Mozart that is J. Robert Oppenheimer, a performance that offers a second reflection on ego and thirst for power. His monologue towards the end of the film is what really could seal the award for Downey, but that is just one magnificent moment when other competitors carry that pomp throughout their respective films.

Of the nominees I feel Mark Ruffalo does that best, with again a buffoonish characterization that he thoroughly commits to which only adds to the absurd hilarity of Poor Things. One could say that Ryan Gosling does the same way in Barbie which makes the film as, if not more, hilarious. In summary, Gosling as Ken was a gold mine of comedy. Both Ruffalo and Gosling do well in their film’s entirety that I find their performances better than a veteran like Robert De Niro, who swallows the screen in Killers with such intensity and fear as a familiar reincarnation of evil. As for Sterling K. Brown, he was a fun supporting character in an overall amusing film but personally didn’t stand out well enough to be a tough contender — his slot could have arguably gone to Willem Dafoe, a surprisingly talented Charles Melton, or relative newcomer Dominic Sessa.

WHO I THINK SHOULD HAVE BEEN NOMINATED: Willem Dafoe (Poor Things), Dominic Sessa (The Holdovers), Charles Melton (May December), Nicolas Cage (Renfield), Colman Domingo (The Color Purple)

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS

WHO I THINK WILL WIN: Da’Vine Joy Randolph (The Holdovers)
WHO I THINK SHOULD WIN: Da’Vine Joy Randolph (The Holdovers)
OR Danielle Brooks (The Color Purple)
WHO I WANT TO WIN:
1. Da’Vine Joy Randolph (The Holdovers)
2. Danielle Brooks (The Color Purple)
3. America Ferrera (Barbie)
4. Jodie Foster (Nyad)
5. Emily Blunt (Oppenheimer)

Da’Vine Joy Randolph has been dominating the awards circuit, and it’s not surprising why. As one of the three spectacular performances in The Holdovers, hers is remarkably muted that gets more emotional as the film trudges along — the film itself fires even better when she is left to her reflections or in the company of a co-star. However I would argue this race is not as smooth-sailing as it appears because I believe Danielle Brooks has a strong case. As the standout star of The Color Purple, she portrays her character with such vigor and weight it transcends performance and singing (much like how Oprah Winfrey did).

I did not expect America Ferrera to sneak in a nomination which likely could have gone to Julianne Moore, but outside of Robbie and Gosling it is her character who rises high in an incredible ensemble with a much more important role than perceived and has the task of rallying the final act of Barbie. Much like Bening, Jodie Foster carries a fierceness that is more subtle but louder when necessary that works well acting off her co-star — one could argue she does better simply by presenting how dire or crucial key moments can be. And like Ferrera, Emily Blunt has an excellent supporting role in a powerhouse ensemble where it takes great skill to be distinct.

WHO I THINK SHOULD HAVE BEEN NOMINATED: Julianne Moore (May December), Viola Davis (Air), Sandra Hüller (The Zone of Interest)

BEST ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY

WHO I THINK WILL WIN: Anatomy of a Fall
WHO I THINK SHOULD WIN: Anatomy of a Fall
OR Past Lives
WHO I WANT TO WIN:
1. Anatomy of a Fall
2. Past Lives
3. The Holdovers
4. May December
5. Maestro

I doubt Barbie being here would have made this category a more interesting contest, maybe it should have taken Maestro‘s spot because there’s hardly anything original or new with what Cooper and Josh Singer do in the film. Even if Barbie were here, I still think this is a toss-up between Anatomy and Past Lives.

Admittedly I’m a big fan of courtroom dramas, but real-life partners Justine Triet and Arthur Harari make it more complex than a generic Law and Order episode. There are layers to their script that goes deeper than who killed who, there is an understanding — or rather a misunderstanding — about the complications of marriage and relationships. A lack of communication may lead a downward spiral and the film sheds light on that in a way that doesn’t falter or trip, and its fully deserving of its laurels. And then you have Past Lives which absolutely floored my heart. Celine Song‘s gift as a storyteller blows me away, managing to utilize glances that speak as powerful as the nuanced dialogues she chooses.

I honestly found The Holdovers delightful, a story that feels so simple on paper, but the performances make it anything but. David Hemingson did a really good job formulating the story, funny when it needed to be especially in the middle section when the bickering is at an all-time high. There was familiarity and freshness to The Holdovers that did not feel boring at all. And I remain to be impressed with how Todd Haynes depicts his characters. He and the duo story duo of Samy Burch and Alex Mechanik slowly present who the characters in May December are in pieces, and even after the cards are shown there is this confusion that remains as to what their intentions or realizations all mean — and it’s just so gripping.

WHAT I THINK SHOULD HAVE BEEN NOMINATED: Air, Asteroid City, The Boy and the Heron, The Teachers’ Lounge

BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY

WHO I THINK WILL WIN: Barbie, Oppenheimer OR American Fiction
WHO I THINK SHOULD WIN: Oppenheimer
WHO I WANT TO WIN:
1. Oppenheimer
2. Poor Things
3. Barbie
4. American Fiction
5. The Zone of Interest

There is a huge possibility that because of the Barbie snubs, the Academy will choose to award Gerwig here even though Oppenheimer and American Fiction are the heavy favourites. Its inclusion here certainly rattles the race little bit, but I’m still siding with Oppenheimer claiming a win given how Nolan continues to excel at non-linear storytelling. I certainly wouldn’t mind other nominees making a surprise win like Poor Things or Zone, so rest assured I’ll be keeping tabs on this category come Oscars night.

WHAT I THINK SHOULD HAVE BEEN NOMINATED: Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse, The Color Purple, Mission: Impossible — Dead Reckoning

BEST ANIMATED FILM

WHO I THINK WILL WIN: Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse OR The Boy and the Heron
WHO I THINK SHOULD WIN: Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse
OR The Boy and the Heron
WHO I WANT TO WIN:
1. Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse
2. The Boy and the Heron
3. Nimona
4. Elemental
5. Robot Dreams

Before 2023 even began I was already confident that Spider-Verse had this locked. After seeing it in the theater, I was even more confident. Such care and creativity went into perfecting the eye-popping animation, not just on a visual level but emotionally too. The individual scenes of Miles Morales and Gwen Stacy express this so vividly, whether by meticulous intricacy or brushed intensity — the animators were clearly having a field day at visual storytelling during the upside down scene.

But then I saw The Boy and the Heron and I began to have some doubts, exciting ones. What makes Hayao Miyazaki a great storyteller is his ability to convey emotions through animation, trusting that his audiences will understand the the greater scheme of things without the filmmaker forcing his hand. One of the film’s is coping or adjusting to loss and how one can manage to still find the beauty in a damaged world — leave it to Miyazaki to be able to present a solution in such a visually breathtaking way. What Spider-Verse nails in intricate details, The Boy and the Heron mirrors with the heart, soul, and imagination of a creative filmmaker.

I am glad though that animation continues to improve over the years as seen with Nimona and Elemental. The former spectacular animation and concepts that people of all ages will be able to appreciate, and learning how Nimona finally found a platform gives one hope (meanwhile other studios are shelving things left and right). In Elemental, the static movement of Ember and transparent looks of Wade — appearances that extend to their families — are another step forward for Pixar but its still losing track of the creative ingenuity it had in years past. I also can’t deny there will always be a place for traditional animation when there are films like Robot Dreams that manage to be creatively beautiful, even with the lack of dialogue. Would my thoughts on this category have changed if I saw Suzume and it was nominated? I guess we won’t know, yet.

WHAT I THINK SHOULD HAVE BEEN NOMINATED: The Super Mario Bros. Movie

BEST INTERNATIONAL FILM

WHO I THINK WILL WIN: The Zone of Interest (United Kingdom)
WHO I THINK SHOULD WIN: The Zone of Interest (United Kingdom)
WHO I WANT TO WIN:
1. The Zone of Interest (United Kingdom)
2. Society of the Snow
(Spain)
3. The Teachers’ Lounge (Germany)
4. Perfect Days (Japan)
5. Io Capitano
(Italy)

France really messed up when it didn’t chose to submit Anatomy of a Fall (granted I say that having not seen The Taste of Things). Given that, it seems quite obvious that The Zone of Interest is streaking ahead with the win. Should Anatomy of a Fall have made it here the competition would be surely interesting, and I’m eager to see where Academy voters go. Personally for me the pendulum keeps swinging and I can’t throw the dart, so maybe I’m grateful for the obvious. That being said, I was still entertained by the other nominees — emotionally in Perfect Days and thrillingly in The Teachers’ Lounge. Having seen Alive so many years ago made settling into Society of the Snow somewhat easier, and without recency bias I think J.A. Bayona‘s film did better. Of course I would have loved seeing The Boy and the Heron here, or again Suzume if I got around to seeing it (for which I should apologize to Makoto Shinkai, I promise this time it won’t take long).

WHAT I THINK SHOULD HAVE BEEN NOMINATED: Anatomy of a Fall (France), The Boy and the Heron (Japan), El Conde (Chile), Concrete Utopia (South Korea)

BEST DOCUMENTARY SHORT

WHO I THINK WILL WIN: The ABCs of Book Banning OR The Last Repair Shop
WHO I THINK SHOULD WIN: The Last Repair Shop
WHO I WANT TO WIN:
1. The Last Repair Shop
2. Nǎi Nai & Wài Pó

3. The ABCs of Book Banning
4. The Barber of Little Rock
5. Island In Between

Feels strange to be predicting a category I didn’t do last year, but still overall glad that I managed to watch a majority of the nominees which allowed me to give this portion a go. I won’t lie, Nǎi Nai & Wài Pó won my heart over with how adorable the titular grandmothers are. I still feel that the Academy will learn towards The ABCs of Book Banning given its subject matter on an issue so recent and just outrageous, but I will proudly campaign for The Last Repair ShopBen Proudfoot and Kris Bowers got me again. Maybe I’m too big a sucker for films about music, I was really touched by the personal stories of the people who fix instruments for children in Los Angeles, accompanied by beautiful music for each section.

WHAT I THINK SHOULD HAVE BEEN NOMINATED: N/A

BEST LIVE ACTION SHORT

WHO I THINK WILL WIN: The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar
WHO I THINK SHOULD WIN: The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar
WHO I WANT TO WIN:
1. The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar
2. The After

3. Knight of Fortune
Invincible
Red, White and Blue

While I’m able to attempt predicting more categories again this time around, I feel kind of bad not being able to see some of the nominees as they aren’t all publicly available (which has always been the case for the shorts). Still, having seen a majority of those in Best Live Action Short allows me to get around to coming back here again. Maybe its my bias for Wes Anderson but the director feels right at home with Roald Dahl — such a delight seeing the author’s creativity be brought to life once more by an artistic mind like his. The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar works as well as any of Anderson‘s previous films, and it’s high time he gets an Oscar. David Oyelowo was remarkable in The After, a short, sudden, and piercing depiction of confronting grief — coincidentally the same theme of Knight of Fortune which approaches it more humorously.

WHAT I THINK SHOULD HAVE BEEN NOMINATED: N/A

BEST ORIGINAL SCORE

WHO I THINK WILL WIN: Oppenheimer
WHO I THINK SHOULD WIN: Oppenheimer
WHO I WANT TO WIN:
1. Oppenheimer
2. Poor Things
3. Killers of the Flower Moon
4. American Fiction

5. Indiana Jones and the Dial Destiny

Let me begin by saying it’s absolutely criminal that neither Spider-Verse nor The Boy and the Heron are not nominated here when Daniel Pemberton and Joe Hisaishi both made some of the best scores of 2023, two of the three films that had me instantly reflecting how incredible the music was after leaving the theater. The third? Oppenheimer, so consider this a slam dunk for Ludwig Göransson. Toward the end of the year “Can You Hear the Music” and “American Prometheus” were among the pieces that were on a loop at my place.

Of the nominees, the film that comes closest to its music being personally memorable was Poor Things, with Jerskin Fendrix producing insanely good pieces of music that lends to the internal adventurous journey the lead character embarks on. American Fiction and Killers‘ scores certainly fit well within the storytelling of their respective films (rest in peace, Robbie Robertson) but I just don’t see either of them topping Oppenheimer or even Poor Things. It’s kind of ridiculous to see Indiana Jones and the Dial Destiny is an Oscar nominee, but that what’s you get from a legend like John Williams. However with respect to the true maestro, that historic 54th nomination should have gone to Pemberton or Hisaishi.

WHAT I THINK SHOULD HAVE BEEN NOMINATED: Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse, The Boy and the Heron, Past Lives, Robot Dreams, Rustin, Mission: Impossible Dead Reckoning, The Little Mermaid

BEST ORIGINAL SONG

WHO I THINK WILL WIN: “What Was I Made For?” (Barbie)
WHO I THINK SHOULD WIN: “What Was I Made For?” (Barbie)
WHO I WANT TO WIN:
1. “What Was I Made For?” (Barbie)
2. “It Never Went Away” (American Fiction)
3. “I’m Just Ken” (Barbie)
4. “Wahzhazhe (A Song for My People)” (Killers of the Flower Moon)
*“The Fire Inside” (Flamin’ Hot)

In some way I just knew that a song from Barbie was going to win this category before 2023 even ended, it was just a matter of figuring out which one. “Dance The Night” was the lead banger of everything in the soundtrack, the world went gaga over “I’m Just Ken,” but its looking very likely Billie Eilish and FINNEAS are on track to win their second Oscar because of “What Was I Made For?” Granted on first seeing the soundtrack it was strange seeing Eilish‘s name, but her song truly encapsulates the main character’s journey throughout the film and even has tears shedding during the pivotal scene it appears. I also really can’t take it away from them because it really is a beautiful song.

As a fan of Jon Batiste, I’m glad his song got an Oscar nod when his documentary didn’t. “It Never Went Away” too is such a beautiful song that I’d gladly give it stronger chances than “I’m Just Ken” — the only thing that could possibly sway me is Gosling singing it live on the night. I don’t think even the Killers team were expecting a nomination here so I doubt expectations will be any higher. As for Diane Warren, the wait for an Oscar will have to wait after a 15th go (somewhat impressive though that she’s had eight nominations in the last decade).

WHAT I THINK SHOULD HAVE BEEN NOMINATED: “Steal the Show” (Elemental), “Dance the Night” (Barbie), “Keep It Movin'” (The Color Purple), “Road to Freedom” (Rustin), “Wild Uncharted Waters” (The Little Mermaid), “Peaches” (The Super Mario Bros. Movie)

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY

WHO I THINK WILL WIN: Oppenheimer
WHO I THINK SHOULD WIN: Oppenheimer
OR Poor Things
WHO I WANT TO WIN:
1. Oppenheimer
2. Poor Things
3. Maestro
4. El Conde
5. Killers of the Flower Moon

I can’t see Oppenheimer not striking home here, especially in my personal opinion Hoyte van Hoytema should have won at least once already in the last decade. I’ve seen him at his best, Oppenheimer could be up there, and better to award him now before he becomes another Roger Deakins waiting their turn. However I can’t simply throw away how much I enjoyed Poor Things. Robbie Ryan dialed his work to max capacity; the now-iconic fisheyes lens he uses for Lanthimos is utilized more splendidly though much commendations should also be given to the wider lens and colours that really immerse audiences into a steampunk world.

No bias but Matthew Libatique continues to be a revelation. For Maestro he and Cooper work through the eras of the film’s timelines ever so gorgeously not just they are temporally apt but a magnificent sight. Whether it’s black-and-white which allows the actors to bathe in the light (or lack of it) or lush warm colours that contrast the rifts in the relationship, Cooper has brought out the best in Libatique and vice versa. Even the long takes across the years are so captivating — the Mahler performance in particularly is outstanding. Black-and-white cinematography really do have a chokehold on the Academy, given how four of the nominees have such sequences at length — El Conde is devoid of colour, though admittedly full of gorgeous shots — but its van Hoytema who I find the most successful at mastering camera and colour for 2023.

WHAT I THINK SHOULD HAVE BEEN NOMINATED: The Creator, The Zone of Interest, Asteroid City, John Wick: Chapter 4, Saltburn, Society of the Snow, The Holdovers, Past Lives, The Color Purple

BEST FILM EDITING

WHO I THINK WILL WIN: Oppenheimer OR Anatomy of a Fall
WHO I THINK SHOULD WIN: Oppenheimer
OR Anatomy of a Fall
WHO I WANT TO WIN:
1. Anatomy of a Fall
2. Oppenheimer
3. Killers of the Flower Moon
4. Poor Things
5. The Holdovers

In full honesty, I really want Anatomy to win this. I think Laurent Sénéchal‘s editing really contributed to what made the film so compelling. Threatening his chances are the impressive quick cutting of Jennifer Lame in Oppenheimer and the assisted complexities of Thelma Schoonmaker in Killers. Lame‘s case is strengthened by how her editing is crucial to the non-linear narrative (as expected by Nolan) of Oppenheimer. Admittedly she nails the execution, but I was more impressed by how the same technique was done in Dunkirk. No doubt I’d be glad with Lame winning, but still hinging my hopes for Anatomy. I would argue though that Killers could have been much shorter, but Schoonmaker is such a legend I wouldn’t put it past the Academy to award her a record fourth win in this category.

On an additional note, what I think makes the work of these three editors so fine is because of their tight collaborative relationship to their directors (Triet for Sénéchal, Nolan for Lame, and Scorsese for Schoonmaker). One could definitely say the same for Yorgos Mavropsaridis and Kevin Tent given they’ve edited all of Yorgos Lanthimos and Alexander Payne‘s work, respectively. A director’s vision really wouldn’t be complete without editors they trust.

WHAT I THINK SHOULD HAVE BEEN NOMINATED: Mission: Impossible — Dead Reckoning, John Wick: Chapter 4, Gran Turismo, The Zone of Interest, Perfect Days, The Color Purple

BEST SOUND

WHO I THINK WILL WIN: Oppenheimer OR The Zone of Interest
WHO I THINK SHOULD WIN: Oppenheimer
WHO I WANT TO WIN:
1. Oppenheimer

2. The Zone of Interest
3. Mission: Impossible — Dead Reckoning
4. The Creator
5. Maestro

There are really two ways to go about here, the signature loud Nolan noises or the ever-present subtle sounds in Zone. Call me old-fashioned or biased but I’m siding with Oppenheimer. I would definitely welcome a Zone win here, but I’d argue it should have been in consideration for its cinematography and production design as well given how pivotal it was in shaping the film’s disturbing atmosphere. Mission: Impossible — Dead Reckoning won the blockbuster slot, but it and The Creator‘s chances aren’t helped given the presence of Oppenheimer. I think I would have traded The Color Purple in for Maestro if music was concerned, but I’m adamant that Spider-Verse or even John Wick: Chapter 4 should have been in consideration as well.

WHAT I THINK SHOULD HAVE BEEN NOMINATED: John Wick: Chapter 4, Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse, Gran Turismo, Napoleon, The Color Purple, Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3, Blue Beetle, Scream VI

BEST PRODUCTION DESIGN

WHO I THINK WILL WIN: Barbie OR Oppenheimer
WHO I THINK SHOULD WIN: Barbie
OR Oppenheimer
WHO I WANT TO WIN:
1. Barbie
2. Oppenheimer
3. Poor Things
4. Killers of the Flower Moon
5. Napoleon

My top three were the films I was truly amazed by their production design, along with Asteroid City and The Creator especially given their budgets. Somehow I feel more attracted to Barbie getting the win simply by how eye-popping the plastics of Barbie Land are thanks to Sarah Greenwood and Katie Spencer. Having seen how production on Oppenheimer was built, I also can’t fault a Nolan film winning (even if it wasn’t Nathan Crowley at the helm). Funnily enough this is the only category where I have Barbenheimer directly going at each other.

I really did find Shena Heath, James Price, and Zsuzsa Mihalek‘s work on Poor Things quite enthralling, it added to the film’s enveloping nature and overall quirkiness. I do think Killers‘ merits are on the same level as Oppenheimer, only the latter did it better and was more integral to making the movie click. I will hand it to Napoleon though, the battle sequences were the film’s best parts so this nomination is well-earned.

WHAT I THINK SHOULD HAVE BEEN NOMINATED: The Creator, Asteroid City, The Zone of Interest, Saltburn, Mission: Impossible — Dead Reckoning, Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3, The Color Purple, The Little Mermaid, Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny

BEST COSTUME DESIGN

WHO I THINK WILL WIN: Killers of the Flower Moon OR Barbie
WHO I THINK SHOULD WIN: Killers of the Flower Moon
WHO I WANT TO WIN:
1. Killers of the Flower Moon
2. Barbie
3. Poor Things
4. Napoleon
5. Oppenheimer

As for costume design, I really see it going two ways. Jacqueline West did a lot of research into Osage attires and clothings to make Killers even more period-accurate. Jacqueline Durran‘s costume design for Barbie meanwhile is one of the film’s outright winners with not just bright outfits but the doll’s catalogue brought to life with some contemporary spins here and there. Four of the nominees fall under the period category and each have a strong case, with the costumes of Napoleon being one of the film’s few strengths. Nothing particularly stood out in Oppenheimer save for Murphy‘s suit and hat, not in the way the outfits Stone wore in Poor Things. I’ll still place my bets on the veterans, though I would be content with whoever comes out on top.

WHAT I THINK SHOULD HAVE BEEN NOMINATED: The Color Purple, Ten Little Mistresses, Asteroid City, Dungeons & Dragons: Honor Among Thieves, The Creator, Maestro, The Little Mermaid, Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny, Air, The Marvels

BEST MAKEUP AND HAIRSTYLING

WHO I THINK WILL WIN: Maestro OR Poor Things
WHO I THINK SHOULD WIN: Poor Things
WHO I WANT TO WIN:
1. Poor Things
2. Maestro
3. Society of the Snow
4. Oppenheimer
* Golda

Everyone’s going on about how different Cooper looks because of the infamous nose. Granted it’s another triumph for Kazu Hiro, I still firmly believe that Poor Things should strongly be in the discussion. Nadia StaceyMark Coulier, and Josh Weston did an amazing job for the ghastly appearance of Dafoe‘s character, and I had one friend wishing she had hair like Stone‘s Bella Baxter. Naturally I’ll understand why if Maestro wins anyway, I just want some tougher consideration. For one thing I’m still mighty impressed with how Downey looked in Oppenheimer.

WHAT I THINK SHOULD HAVE BEEN NOMINATED: Guardians of the Galaxy: Vol. 3, Napoleon, Dungeons & Dragons: Honor Among Thieves, Renfield, The Color Purple

BEST VISUAL EFFECTS

WHO I THINK WILL WIN: The Creator
WHO I THINK SHOULD WIN: The Creator
WHO I WANT TO WIN:
1. The Creator
2. Mission: Impossible — Dead Reckoning
3. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3
4. Napoleon
* Godzilla Minus One

I got over Oppenheimer missing out the shortlist quite quickly, probably because it was going to make predicting easier. The easy answer would have been a blockbuster like Mission: Impossible — Dead Reckoning or Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3, however The Creator managed to match and even surpass either’s visual effects with a significantly lower budget. They are seamless when it matters, even though the robot design appears to be an earlier version of those seen in Ex Machina, but Gareth Edwards still made it look so visually stunning on a $80 million budget. I do feel really bad that I didn’t get to see Godzilla Minus One which is getting recognition on the same grounds so hopefully I can get my hands on it, especially if it comes away with a win.

WHAT I THINK SHOULD HAVE BEEN NOMINATED: Oppenheimer, Dungeons & Dragons: Honor Among Thieves, The Marvels, Blue Beetle, Cocaine Bear, M3GAN, Ant-Man and the Wasp: Quantumania, Shazam! Fury of the Gods, Tetris

Author: Kristofer Purnell

"Even in a moment of abject saccharine, I still got it"

Leave a comment